Traffic Safety Task Force

get safely to schoolThe Traffic Safety Task Force includes Police Chief Diane Venenga, City Engineer Kevin Trom, Streets Superintendent Don Colony and City Planner Dean Wheatley and has been studying possible dangers and identifying potential solutions to make school-related traffic in North Liberty safer, particularly in light of the hundreds of students who will lose school-provided busing this fall.

The task force is working with staff, evaluating studies and collecting data from the Iowa City Community School District, Metropolitan Planning Organization of Johnson County and Safe Routes to Schools program to assess and propose a holistic set of solutions to make each student’s trip from home to school and back safer.

The task force continues its work to find steps to be implemented for fall 2016. Do you have a concern, idea or feedback? Submit it to the task force though the form below.